musings on music, travel, books, and life from Southeast Asia

mpm1415

Once again, while I was spending time at Tat Ein village in Shan State back in March, I let some of the novice monks in residence at the monastery borrow my camera. I usually designate one monk as my assistant photographer, but the last few kids that handled that role have left the monastery, so this time I made it a group effort!

mpm1407

mpm1419

 mpm1402

As far as my ageing memory can recall, no one in this bunch had used my camera before (actually, this trip was the “debut” for my new camera, but it’s similar to the old model I had), so I gave them a quick run-through on the operating basics, stopping only occasionally to offer tips when it looked like they were puzzled, and then let them run off with the camera — literally.

mpm1424

mpm1409

mpm1413

mpm1425 

mpm1401

While I was giving the u-zin his English lesson, the novice monks ran wild with my camera, taking shots in and around the grounds of the monastery. I wish I had been a fly on the wall and could have listened in while they giggled and pondered new ways to pose. Here are the results of their photo-taking rounds. I look forward to going back to the monastery later this year and hand them some prints of the shots that they took.

mpm1417

mpm1411

mpm1423

mpm1414

mpm1403

 mpm1410

mpm1426

mpm1416

mpm1412

mpm1427

mpm1408

Tag Cloud

