musings on music, travel, books, and life from Southeast Asia

syp071219

I’m thinking a lot about Myanmar lately, as I begin planning my next trip over there. As the days fly by I realize my departure date is less than two months away. Holy monhinga … time to start picking out which longyis, in my ever-growing collection, to wear. All this trip preparation reminds me that I still have a bunch of photos leftover from my last trip that I haven’t posted yet. So, on that note, here we go: 21 more reasons to remember Myanmar.

 

90dough1

Making morning treats at a small neighborhood teashop on 90th Street in Mandalay.

 

class071279

Novice monks bring water for the primary school at Tat Ein village in Shan State.

 

class071262

Students at a village school near Inle Lake play games during their lunch break.

 

muddymorn1

Early morning cyclist on a muddy street in Nyaungshwe.

 

keyboard2

Tapping and blowing out a tune in Shan State!

 

kuriouskids1

Students at Tat Ein’s primary school peek under the partition to check out what I’m teaching in the other class.

 

msh02

Ko Maw Hsi and his daughter in Mandalay.

 

zinkoseeds

Zin Ko shows off his tasty new key chain in Amarapura.

 

ssc09

Drying out chili peppers outside a monastery near Nyaungshwe.

 

ssc18

Even monks enjoy a game of late afternoon football!

 

pct51

A student in a pretty hat poses in front of a pretty plant at a temple near Pindaya.

 

sss071211

Nyaungshwe traffic jam!

 

shoegame2

Taking aim while playing the shoe game at a pagoda in Amarapura.

 tek16

A little afternoon street corner guitar serenade in Yangon.

 

monkmed2

A monk in Mandalay during his morning meditation walk.

 

mp3

Checking out the tunes at the teashop on 90th Street in Mandalay.

 

mawhsi071203

Ko Maw Hsi bangs a gong in Mandalay.

 

tem071226

Novice monk with his alms bowl outside the monastery at Tat Ein village in Shan State.

 

nsc48

Dancing the day away in Amarapura.

 

class071277

Students at a village school near Inle Lake play on the slide during their lunch break.

 

Tag Cloud

