musings on music, travel, books, and life from Southeast Asia

Year End Listening

With this year almost wrapped up and ready for tossing away, I was tempted to compile a “Best Of” list, albums that I enjoyed listening to the most in 2012. But as much as I’ve tried to keep up with “worthwhile” new releases, I feel like I haven’t properly sampled enough of the cream of the crop. I haven’t, for example, listened to a fraction of the many CDs that I bought in Kuala Lumpur earlier this month, and there are more than a few other notable 2012 releases that I’m still aiming to buy. Plus, I keep going back and discovering new “old” albums that I like. Thus, any attempt to compile an annual “Best” list would be woefully incomplete. So, in place of a yearly roundup, here is another one of my regular lists, CDs that I’ve been playing the most often the past two months.

 nyamericana

Neil Young – Americana

Patterson Hood – Heat Lightning Rumbles in the Distance

Calexico – Algiers

Dexys – One Day I’m Going to Soar

Various Artists – Eccentric Soul: The Capsoul Label

 lostsoulgems

Various Artists – Lost Soul Gems from the Sound of Memphis

Ben Folds Five – The Sound of the Life of the Mind

Electric Light Orchestra – El Dorado

Marshall Crenshaw – Jaggedland

The Wallflowers – Glad All Over

 difford

Chris Difford – I Didn’t Get Where I Am

Rick James – Urban Rhapsody

Dylan LeBlanc – Cast the Same Old Shadow

Dyke and the Blazers – We Got More Soul

Ben Kweller – Changing Horses

 opensesame

Freddie Hubbard – Open Sesame

Jackie McLean – Capuchin Swing

Andrew Bird – Break It Yourself

Donald Fagen – Sunken Condos

4 Way Street – Pretzel Park

 wondermintsbali

Wondermints – Bali

Milt Jackson & John Coltrane – Bags & Trane

Cass McCombs – Dropping the Writ

Band of Horses – Infinite Sums

Lee Morgan – Tom Cat

 davidruffin

David Ruffin – David (Unreleased LP and More)

Joe Bataan – Anthology

Two Door Cinema Club – Beacon

Elliott Smith – Figure 8

XTC – Apple Venus

 iainarcher

Iain Archer – Magnetic North

Shack – H.M.S. Fable

BoDeans – Joe Dirt Car

Barclay James Harvest – Gone to Earth

Joe Henderson – Mode for Joe

 explorersclubgh

The Explorer’s Club – The Grand Hotel

Kenny Dorham – Afro-Cuban

Frankie Miller – That’s Who!

Cut Copy – Bright Live Neon Love

Durocs – Durocs

 carolinachocdrops

Carolina Chocolate Drops – Leaving Eden

I See Hawks in L.A. – Shoulda Been Gold 2001-2007

Leon Spencer – Legends of Acid Jazz

Jimmy Buffett – Havana Daydreamin’

The Vapors – Vaporized

 

Tag Cloud

