musings on music, travel, books, and life from Southeast Asia

Cambodia Cultural Village

My four-day trip to Siem Reap earlier this month was mostly spent on outings with friends who live in the area. And I also spent a lot of time eating and playing pool at the Hawaii Restaurant. One good thing about this trip was the lazy pace. I didn’t run myself ragged constantly going places. But I did find time to visit the homes of my friends Chamrong and So Pengthai, as well as going to markets and the new night bazaar in town. Other than visiting Phnom Krom, overlooking the Tonle Sap Lake, I didn’t venture out to see any of the Angkor temples. I never get bored traipsing among those ancient ruins, but nowadays there are so many tourists at Angkor, you are more than likely to be tripping over busloads of ancient Koreans.

One day I took a group of friends to the Cambodia Cultural Village, located on Highway Six, on the way to the airport. This sprawling park has daily music and dance performances, boat rides, a haunted house, many cultural exhibits, and playgrounds for young children. The day we went it was a national holiday and the place was uncomfortably packed with locals. Not my idea of an ideal day at the park, but my friends all enjoyed it. Here are a few photos of that day, along with one of Thai at the new house he just had built.

Tag Cloud

